Regional Economic Partnership Announces 2023 Board and Executive Committee

At the first meeting of Directors following their election at the Fall General Meeting in November, The Central Alberta Economic Partnership directors are pleased to announce their 2023 executive committee and slate of directors.

2022 was the first time CAEP elected a business representative as Chair of the Board of Directors. James Carpenter, business representative for the Town of Olds was acclaimed as the Chair of CAEP for the second year. In his second term as Chair of CAEP, Mr. Carpenter, president of Energy Developers in Olds and Business Development Specialist at First Nations Structures Ltd,  says “I am humbled by the vote of confidence from leaders across central Alberta to hold this leadership position and see the role as building on my strengths as a connector.  With effective organizations such as CAEP leading regional collaboration, central Alberta communities will be instrumental in helping the province’s economy to rebound in the coming year. I am excited about the progress to date and about the work yet to be done.”

The full slate of CAEP’s 2023 Directors, effective December 14, 2022 is:


Chair                                                              James Carpenter                                             Town of Olds

Vice Chair                                                     Chief Leonard StandingontheRoad          Montana First Nation             

Treasurer                                                     Mayor Jim Wood                                            Red Deer County      

Secretary                                                      Mayor Megan Hanson                                  Town of Sylvan Lake                

Director at Large                                       Mayor Jean Barclay                                        Town of Innisfail



Municipal Representatives

Indigenous Nations                               Chief Leonard StandingontheRoad          Montana First Nation               

      Cities above 20,000                         Councillor Bruce Buruma                           City of Red Deer

City under 20,000                                Councillor Dean Billingsley                          City of Wetaskiwin

Towns & Villages                                 Mayor Barry Kletke                                         Town of Trochu

                                                                 Councillor Chris Vargas                                 Town of Sundre

                                                                  Councillor Joyce McCoy                               Town of Didsbury

                                                                Mayor Jean Barclay                                         Town of Innisfail

                                                                Mayor Megan Hanson                                     Town of Sylvan Lake

Counties & Municipal Districts      Councillor Faye McGhee                                  Kneehill County        

                                                               Councillor Brenda Knight                                Lacombe County

                                                               Mayor Jim Wood                                               Red Deer County

Business Representatives                 Lesley McMahon                                              Red Deer County

                                                                Pieter Broere                                                     Ponoka County

                                                               James Carpenter                                               Town of Olds

Associate Representative                Graham Ingham                                               Red Deer Regional Airport


The new Board’s first order of business was approving the January release of the Regional Economic Growth Strategy which was completed with the involvement of stakeholders over the past year and will serve as the organization’s strategic plan until 2027.

Central Alberta Economic Partnership elected the 2023 Board of Directors at its Fall General Meeting November 23, 2022 in Red Deer. CAEP extends its appreciation to the general meeting event sponsors Chandos, LocalIntel, McSweeny, and Waste Connections Canada.  

Operating since 1998, the Central Alberta Economic Partnership is a member-driven non-profit corporation that convenes business, communities, and people to foster local success and advance the region’s competitive advantage.  CAEP operates with the generous contributions of our volunteer working groups and members, and the financial support of the Government of Alberta and our municipal and partner members.

Download PDF Version